Two shopkeepers were shot dead at separate business premises in Dunoon, Cape Town, on Saturday, 26 September 2026.
The victims were men aged 51 and 56. They were killed at shops in Orchard Street and Thandabantu Street. They are understood to have been foreign nationals. Police have not released their names.
Western Cape police confirmed that Milnerton SAPS is investigating two murder cases. Police spokesperson Constable Ndakhe Gwala said the two men were shot and fatally wounded at their respective business premises. He said the circumstances surrounding the shootings are under investigation. No arrest has been made.
CCTV footage circulating on Monday shows people inside a small Dunoon shop dropping behind a counter as gunfire is directed at the counter. In the recording, a first gunman puts a firearm through the money slot in the counter and fires several rounds. A second gunman then fires. A third gunman follows. The three then run off. Posts sharing the video describe the attackers as extortionists targeting shopkeepers.
Police have not publicly confirmed that the circulating clip is footage of either of the two fatal shootings. They have not given an official date or time for that specific recording. No further injuries have been separately confirmed beyond the two deaths already reported at the two business premises.
Dunoon lies on the northern outskirts of Cape Town, near Killarney Gardens and Table View. Small shops in the area have been repeatedly linked to alleged protection-fee demands. Western Cape Police Commissioner Lieutenant General Sizakhele Dyantyi said 109 extortion cases were reported in the province between April and June 2026. Of those, 52 involved protection-racket extortion. Spaza shops and tuck shops were the most frequently targeted premises in that period, accounting for 13 reported cases.
On 20 June 2026, Dunoon community activist and Democratic Alliance Ward 104 candidate Sinovuyo Dyokwe, 48, was shot dead in Mnandi Street while walking home from a voter-registration venue. Police said a gunman approached her on foot and opened fire. Preliminary police information later indicated that she had allegedly been subjected to extortion and forced to pay protection money, and that she was threatened after refusing to continue payments. Serious Violent Crime detectives arrested a 37-year-old man in Dunoon on 24 July 2026. Police alleged he was the mastermind behind her murder and linked him to extortion charges.
No suspects have been identified in the 26 September shopkeeper murders. Police have not released a description of the gunmen, the type of firearms used, or whether the two scenes are being treated as linked.
Two Dunoon Shopkeepers Shot Dead at Separate Stores as CCTV Shows Gunmen Firing Through Counter pic.twitter.com/3EzsOK195I
— PrimeTime News (@PrimeTimeNewsZA) September 28, 2026
Anyone with information can contact police on 08600 10111 or through the MySAPS app.
Three cash-in-transit suspects killed, one arrested after police shootout on Pretoria R80
Three suspected cash-in-transit robbers were shot dead and a fourth was wounded and arrested during a shootout with police on the R80 in northern Pretoria on Monday, 28 September 2026.
Gauteng police spokesperson Colonel Dimakatso Nevhuhulwi confirmed that officers exchanged fire with the suspects on the highway. Three of the men were killed at the scene. The fourth was injured and taken into custody. Firearms were recovered during the operation.
The confrontation took place on the R80, also known as the Mabopane Highway, in northern Tshwane. Traffic authorities later reported that the northbound carriageway was closed at Bremer Street in Suiderberg because of the crime scene. The closure caused delays of more than an hour on Es’kia Mphahlele Drive between Van der Hoff Road and Lavender Road.
At the time police first confirmed the deaths and the arrest, they had not released a full sequence of events. It was not publicly stated whether the suspects were intercepted before an attack on a cash vehicle, during an attempted robbery, or while fleeing. Police also had not confirmed whether any officers or members of the public were injured in the exchange of fire, beyond the wounded suspect who was arrested.
Major General Fred Kekana, Gauteng’s acting provincial commissioner, was expected to brief the media at the scene as the investigation continued.
The R80 is a major arterial linking northern Pretoria suburbs and townships with the city and surrounding industrial areas. Cash-in-transit vehicles regularly use the route.
Monday’s incident remained an active scene into the afternoon. Forensic officers, detectives and traffic units were on site while that section of the highway stayed closed. Police said the investigation was ongoing and that further details would follow once the scene had been processed and the arrested suspect had been treated and interviewed.
No names, ages or addresses of the deceased or the arrested man were released in the initial police confirmation. The number and type of firearms recovered were also not specified beyond the statement that firearms were seized.
Three cash-in-transit suspects killed, one arrested after police shootout on Pretoria R80 pic.twitter.com/7Gc4fHRHCG
— PrimeTime News (@PrimeTimeNewsZA) September 28, 2026
Anyone with information about the incident can contact police through Crime Stop on 08600 10111 or the MySAPS app. Callers may remain anonymous.
Limpopo police sergeant allegedly kills 32-year-old man in road dispute, rapes 14-year-old girl, then shoots himself
A police sergeant stationed at Mecklenburg SAPS allegedly shot and killed a 32-year-old man during a dispute on a narrow road at Ga-Mashamothane on Sunday afternoon, 27 September 2026, then drove to his residence in Ga-Masha outside Jane Furse, where he allegedly raped a 14-year-old girl who had been travelling with him, before fatally shooting himself with his service firearm.
Limpopo provincial police spokesperson Colonel Malesela Ledwaba said police were alerted to a shooting at Ga-Mashamothane at approximately 15:30. Officers who responded found the 32-year-old man lying on the ground with gunshot wounds. Emergency Medical Services certified him dead at the scene.
According to preliminary information, the victim and the sergeant encountered each other while driving along a narrow road. A dispute reportedly ensued between the two men. The officer then allegedly shot the man with his service firearm and left the scene.
Police say the sergeant thereafter drove to his home in Ga-Masha, in the Sekhukhune District, with a 14-year-old girl who had been accompanying him. The minor was allegedly raped at the residence. Shortly afterwards, the sergeant allegedly took the same service firearm and fatally shot himself.
Police in Tubatse, Sekhukhune District, have opened cases of murder and rape, as well as an inquest into the sergeant’s death. The Independent Police Investigative Directorate has been notified and will handle further investigation.
The Provincial Commissioner of Police in Limpopo, Lieutenant General Jan Scheepers, condemned the incident. He said police officers are entrusted with firearms and are expected to uphold and enforce the law. Where a member is alleged to have acted contrary to the law, he said, the circumstances must be thoroughly investigated and the appropriate processes must follow. He extended condolences to the family of the deceased man and said the affected minor would receive the necessary support.
Police have not released the names of the sergeant, the 32-year-old man or the girl. No further official information has been provided on the cause of the road dispute, the relationship between the sergeant and the girl, or whether anyone else was present at either scene. The investigation remains at a preliminary stage.
Wedela tavern shooting death toll rises to 18 as police hunt eight gunmen
Eighteen people are now dead after a mass shooting at a tavern in Extension 3, Wedela, on the West Rand near Carletonville. Gauteng police confirmed on Monday, 28 September 2026, that one of the wounded died in hospital, raising the toll from the 17 people declared dead at the scene on Saturday night.
The attack took place at about 21:30 on Saturday, 26 September 2026. Police said patrons were drinking inside and outside the tavern when eight armed men arrived. The suspects opened fire on people outside, then entered the tavern and continued shooting at patrons inside. Officers said the gunmen were armed with AK-47 rifles and pistols.
Police said the suspects searched some patrons and took cellphones before fleeing in two unidentified vehicles. Two other vehicles were set alight during the incident. Emergency Medical Services declared 17 people dead at the scene. Those 17 were 13 men and four women. Fifteen other people were taken to hospital with gunshot wounds.
On Monday, Gauteng police spokesperson Brigadier Brenda Muridili said one more victim had died in hospital. The investigation now covers 18 counts of murder, 18 counts of attempted murder, two counts of malicious damage to property and armed robbery. No arrests have been made. A manhunt is under way for the eight unidentified armed men.
Only four of the dead have been identified so far: two South African nationals and two Lesotho nationals. Police said all injured people still in hospital have been identified. Five of the wounded were shot in the upper body and remain in a critical condition. The remaining injured patients are in a stable condition. Investigators are still working to identify the other deceased.
Gauteng Provincial Police Commissioner Lieutenant-General Tommy Mthombeni has appointed a dedicated multidisciplinary team. The team includes murder and robbery detectives, Crime Intelligence and Crime Scene Investigation members. It is led by a senior brigadier responsible for Crime Investigation Services in the province.
Operation Prosper has been brought into the area. That operation includes the South African National Defence Force and specialised SAPS units, including the Tactical Response Team and Public Order Policing. Police said the operation is being used to intensify work in Wedela and surrounding areas.
The tavern has been reported as Dora’s Tavern on Hector Peterson Street in Extension 3, Wedela. Wedela is in the West Rand District, about 80 kilometres west of Johannesburg, in the Carletonville area.
Police have not publicly confirmed a single settled motive. Robbery is part of the case because cellphones were taken from patrons, and armed robbery has been added to the charge sheet. Deputy Provincial Commissioner Major-General Fred Kekana has said investigators are also looking at a possible link to an earlier shooting at the same tavern about a month before, in which one person was killed and another wounded. He said one of those killed on Saturday was a person police had been seeking in connection with that earlier incident, and that the latest attack may have been retaliation by another group.
Police have also listed illegal-mining gang rivalry in the area as a line of inquiry. Officers have said they have clear images of the eight suspects. President Cyril Ramaphosa said technology had assisted police in obtaining images of the suspects. Major-General Kekana has said some possible names are known to investigators, but identities would be confirmed through the investigation and in court.
Gauteng Premier Panyaza Lesufi condemned the attack and called for law-enforcement resources to be used to identify and arrest those responsible. An eyewitness, Lonwabo Benze, told reporters that attackers arrived in a Toyota Quantum, that he heard them speaking in Sotho, and that they said the people they were looking for were not there. Police have not adopted those details as their official account.
Anyone with information that can help identify or locate the suspects is asked to call the Crime Stop line on 08600 10111 or send information anonymously through the MySAPS App.
Man dies after Ford Figo and Audi A4 collide on M7 in Zonkizizwe
One man died and three other people were injured after two light motor vehicles collided on the M7 in Zonkizizwe, Ekurhuleni, in the early hours of Sunday, 27 September 2026.
The collision involved a Ford Figo and an Audi A4. The driver of the Ford Figo, a man believed to be in his 30s, was critically injured. He was declared dead at the scene.
A passenger travelling in the Ford Figo sustained moderate injuries and was taken to hospital. Two men travelling in the Audi A4 sustained minor injuries. Both declined hospitalisation.
The circumstances of the crash have not been established. The South African Police Service is investigating.
Zonkizizwe lies on the southern side of Ekurhuleni, near Katlehong and Palm Ridge. The M7 in that area is a local arterial used by commuter and township traffic. Emergency services covering the stretch include teams based at Zonkizizwe and nearby Palm Ridge.
No names of the occupants have been released. No statement has been issued on the direction of travel, the exact point of impact, weather, road surface conditions, or whether any other vehicles were involved. No arrest has been reported.
The Figo driver’s death brings the confirmed fatality count from the incident to one. The three surviving occupants comprise one person with moderate injuries who was admitted and two people with minor injuries who were not hospitalised.
Police have not classified the matter beyond an investigation into the collision. Until that investigation is completed, the cause remains unknown.
The identities of the deceased and the injured have not been made public. Next-of-kin processes have not been confirmed in any official statement available at the time of writing.
- Two Dunoon Shopkeepers Shot Dead at Separate Stores as CCTV Shows Gunmen Firing Through Counter
- Madlanga Commission postponement requested by Khan’s lawyers
- Durban Anti-Racism Declaration Turns 25: UNGA Review
- SpaceX Starship Test Aims for First Orbital Flight
- Temba Bavuma, David Miller Centuries Seal SA Pink ODI Win






